Highlights from IOA Annual Spring Convention

Highlights from IOA Annual Spring Convention

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Dr. Linnea Robbins-Winters, New Carlisle, Indiana, was named the 2017 Optometrist of the Year, and Dr. Joe Sisley, Rockport, Indiana, is the 2017 Young Optometrist of the Year. The awards are bestowed on members who demonstrate not only contributions to the profession, but also service on behalf of the visual welfare of the public and service to the community at large.

Additional awards presented at the IOA Awards Luncheon include the Optometric Educator of the Year Award to Richard Meetz, OD; the Distinguished Service Award to Jeffrey Marshall, OD; the Meritorious Service Award to Robert Moses, OD, and Brad Sutton, OD; and the Outstanding Service in the Public Interest Award to Senator Ron Grooms.

The IOA also presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Edwin C. Marshall, OD. This award is presented to an Indiana optometrist to recognize significant and long lasting contributions to the profession of optometry. American Optometric Association Trustee Dr. Bill Reynolds was the presenter. Dr. Edwin Marshall has provided more than 45 years of service to optometry and is Professor Emeritus of Optometry and Public Health at Indiana University. Inducted into the National Optometry Hall of Fame in 2009, Dr. Edwin Marshall has frequently been recognized for his scholarship, teaching ability, professional advocacy and many contributions to the profession of optometry. Prior to his retirement, Dr. Edwin Marshall served as the IU vice president for Diversity, Equity and Multicultural Affairs.

Newly inducted Indiana Optometry board officers include: Dr. Karon Nowakowski of Muncie – President; Dr. Christopher Browning of Greenwood – President-Elect; Dr. Gregory Norman of Delphi – Treasurer; Dr. Damon Dierker of Indianapolis – Secretary; and Dr. Jeffrey Yocum of Lafayette – Immediate Past President.

The awards ceremony and election took place during the Indiana Optometric Association’s 120th Annual Spring Convention at the Sheraton Indianapolis Hotel at Keystone Crossing on April 21-23, 2017.